Welcome Packet

My welcome packet from United Healthcare arrived in the mail today. In it they detail the requirements for participating:

  • Enrollment in their bariatric resource program
  • BMI of 40 or higher, or at least 35 with two or more co-morbid conditions
  • Over 18
  • and so on…

I more than meet the criteria. My current BMI is around 58%. My height hides my weight somewhat, but there’s no hiding that I let myself go further than I ever should have.

After reading through all of the paperwork, my next step will be to talk with my case manager on September 8th. Then I’ll need to visit my doctor, participate in a 6-month supervised diet and attend a weight loss support/counseling group.

The next six months will be very interesting.

Leave a Reply

