Walk from Obesity

This past weekend I participated in the first ever Walk from Obesity in Augusta, GA. The event helped raise over $3000 in support of the ASMBS (American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery) Foundation and its research and professional education initiatives, and the patient and general public educational and advocacy programs of the Obesity Action Coalition (OAC). The organizers did an awesome job of making this happen!

Lots of people stepped up and helped me in my own fundraising efforts. When I decided to participate in the walk, I thought I’d try to raise at least $200. Thanks to these awesome people, I was able to raise $435! Thank you Dave Bonds, Deborah Edwards-Onoro, Eddie & Jan Powell, Elizabeth Gast, George & Susan Biasiny, Jennifer & Tony Chester, Jeremy Heslop, Jermaine Maree, Matthew Oliphant, and Russ Leseberg.

Walking the full 5K was a bit of a challenge for me. I couldn’t remember the last time I had continually walked 3 miles, but having my wife and son there with me as well as my sister-in-law, Angela – and countless new friends – was pretty darn motivating. It took me around an hour to complete, but I did it with my head held high. I’m especially proud of my son Tyler who walked almost 1.75 miles on his own. (I carried him on my shoulders for a mile and he rode on a golf cart for the rest of it.) I think that’s pretty awesome for a four-year-old! 🙂

Anyway, here’s a few photos from the event. I can’t wait for next year’s walk. I should be in a lot better shape compared to now.

4 thoughts on “Walk from Obesity

  1. Chris – you are truly an inspiration – thanks so much for letting us share your journey with you – I’ve got something else for you to put on your “to do” list for next year – help organization next year’s walk – let me know – it would be an honor to work with you 🙂 keep up the gret work

Leave a Reply

